Snapshot: Mount Mary 1957

Notre Dame Hall Mount Mary Academic Calendar 1956-1957

620 students are enrolled at the beginning of the 1956-1957 school year
Sister Mary John Francis SSND is President of Mount Mary
His Excellency Reverend Albert G. Meyer, Archbishop of Milwaukee, is Chancellor of Mount Mary
Mrs. James Bergstrom is President of the Board of Governors
Carol Berghammer is Senior Class President
Mount Mary Players perform Walter Kerr's Stardust
Louis Budenz lectures Mount Mary students on "Communist Strategy for 1957"
Sister Mary Philemon is Dean of Studies and Sister Mary Celine is Dean of Women
Mount Mary students are required to provide a written statement justifying any absence from class. Students are given unexcused absences if they miss class due to social affairs, oversleeping, extended weekends, or a need to catch up on other course work
92 seniors are awarded degrees in June as part of the Class of 1957
Mount Mary confers an honorary degree on artist Lauren Ford
Bonnie Pfotenhauer Kaftan receives the All-College pin, the highest honor bestowed by Mount Mary, in recognition of her scholarship, generosity, talent, leadership, and social skills